Faith and Work

Many people have discussions and questions about faith and works. What do we have to do, or not do to be acceptable to God. But today, I am not talking about works, I am talking about work. How do our lives of faith impact our lives of work. Work often consists of doing email in my office in the mornings. Today, internet was not connecting with my machine.
Work.
I wanted so much to have internet so I could post this blog, and settle in to answering emails. I was pretty patient (for me). I went through all the steps of unplugging things and plugging them back in. I finally broke down and texted our tech support, who in the end reconnected me with the outside world.

In this case, work and faith connected in my own patient response. On my own frustration leads me to take my computer home and work, instead of staying and working through the actual problems. Faith allows us to work through to the end. Faith allows us to keep hoping, even after the third attempt of turning on and off everything you know how to turn off and on, the computer still works.

When it all works again, I come back to how my work seems less connect to faith than my inability to work causes faith. How odd, when I am reunited with the internet and the outside world the connection brings me closer to God in a short praise of thank you. Glad to be back “in touch.” And then, on to work. Scheduling, figuring. Being content with the work God gives us is a blessing in itself. To be grateful for the emails, the questions, the paperwork yet to be turned in, these are the true signs of faith.

God, help me be more faithful in my work. Allow my patience to flourish in times of waiting. Thank you for the beautiful place you have planted me to cultivate faith. Keep me growing in your way. Amen

This entry was posted in Practical Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment